An Unexpected Visit

A while ago a magazine I subscribe to was delivered to my house. Unfortunately due to this issue having quite a rigid spine, when the postman tried to push it into my mailbox it tore (where normally it would bend).

TornMagazine_900

This annoyed me, as the magazine comes from Europe and cannot be easily bought locally. I didn’t want it to happen again, so a phone call was made to the post office to explain what had happened and to request that in future the magazine be left at the door instead of forced into the mailbox.

Later, at around 19:30 that night there was a knock on the door, and there were two men – the manager of the post office and another younger man in a suit (to this day I’m not quite sure who he was). They bowed and bowed again, apologising profusely and explaining their full understanding of my being upset. They said that they took responsibility for the error and (bowing once more I think) gave their assurance that such a situation would never occur in future.

The whole thing took just a couple of minutes, and as they disappeared, bowing, off into the night, I was left in stunned astonishment.

The level of customer service in this country is nothing short of extraordinary. Even to this day whenever I recall the episode I’m filled with disbelief.

~ by JapanGasm on 18 October, 2009.

4 Responses to “An Unexpected Visit”

  1. Oh no! Kawaiso-ne! Did they pay for it?

  2. What seems normal for you in Tokyo would be a miracle here in the U.S. Alas.

    • Anywhere except Japan, I think. It’s the small things like this which say so much about the culture and which in turn make such a difference to everyday life.

      After experiencing such things I realize how inconsiderate and backward our own cultures can sometimes be.

Join the discussion. Share your thoughts.

 
