I Found It On The Road

Walking home from the station recently I noticed this had been painted on the street:

roadpaint01

Only after a few seconds did I realise what was going on…

If it isn’t obvious, this one reveals a little more:

roadpaint02

And for the full picture: click here (opens in new window)

This isn’t only incredibly cheap, no-maintenance ingenuity, but it’s effective too; there’s been a noticeable difference in drivers’ behaviour since this appeared.

Bizarrely, even knowing the “secret”, I ride my bike differently here now and it makes me smile every time. It’s just like knowing when a filmmaker is trying to manipulate my emotions yet still reacting in exactly the way they intend.

~ by JapanGasm on 3 October, 2009.

3 Responses to “I Found It On The Road”

  1. i wracked my brain, and loved the reveal. more, more!

  2. […] similar to (although superceded by) the road paintings in this previous post which I do think have a far greater 3D […]

Join the discussion. Share your thoughts.

 
